Mission Capital Awards celebrate the people and organizations at the heart of solving complex community problems. Finalists will be celebrated at the Mission Capital Awards reception on Wednesday, October 17, 2018, at Austin Saengerrunde.


Nonprofit Leadership Award

The Nonprofit Leadership Award is presented to a current nonprofit CEO/Executive Director whose notable achievements over the course of his or her career have resulted in lasting community impact.

Criteria for award:

  • Has made a substantial impact in one or more organizations across the span of their career.
  • Inspires and empowers their staff, supporters and the community to achieve results addressing critical community challenges.
  • Has led an organization towards measurable outcomes on a specific social issue.

Outstanding Nonprofit Award

The Outstanding Nonprofit Award is presented to a stand-out organization whose relentless focus on results has created powerful progress for the Central Texas community.

Criteria for award:

  • Demonstrates significant, measurable community impact, especially within the past year. Impact can be from a specific program or project.
  • Has a clearly defined vision, tested program delivery and strategic operations.
  • Addresses the challenges of today with long-term sustainability.

Aligned Impact Award

The Aligned Impact Award is presented to a cross-sector, mission-driven collaborative working to create deep, system-wide change in Central Texas.

Criteria for award:

  • Consists of at least three nonprofit organizations and/or government agencies, businesses, and funders.
  • Shares ownership and decision-making authority and guided by shared leadership.
  • Makes progress around clearly aligned, collective goals with shared metrics and tracked, solution-based outcomes.
  • Includes, but is not limited to, task forces, ongoing collaboratives, or working groups around a specific societal problem or special project.

Catalyst for Change Award

The Catalyst for Change Award is presented to an inspiring individual in the nonprofit, corporate, or government sectors who is making significant change in their approach to addressing a social issue or cause.

Criteria for award:

  • Demonstrates a creative approach to problem-solving to make promising headway in an area of pressing community need.
  • Contributes to the social good through exciting and innovative initiatives – program creation/delivery, alternative philanthropy, financial support, systems change, thought leadership, legislation, advocacy and/or cause campaign.

Nonprofit Community Award

The Nonprofit Community Award is presented to an inspiring organization that has been voted on by their peers.

Criteria for award:

  • Inspires you to do more within your organization, a nonprofit you admire in the community and/or those that have worked beside you on a specific cause.
  • Supports the work you do directly, through advocacy on a particular issue or by partnering on projects and/or events.
  • Must be nominated by staff of a current 501c3 organization. Email address of nominator must be from a nonprofit organization.

We would like nonprofit professionals to nominate one of their own to highlight at this year’s awards reception. Submitted nominations will result in three finalists that Mission Capital will then give nonprofit employees the chance to vote for their top pick. The final results of the vote will be announced at the 2018 Mission Capital Awards.

Award Nomination Guidelines

  • The nomination deadline is June 29 at 5pm.
  • Nominations may be submitted by a third party or by the nominee. Self-nominations are encouraged!
  • A Letter of Support is required for Catalyst for Change Award nominations and Nonprofit Leadership Award nominations. The letter can be authored by someone inside or outside the nominee’s organization.
  • To qualify, the individual or organization(s) being nominated must serve the Central Texas community.
  • An individual or organization may be nominated in multiple categories but can only become a finalist in one award category.
  • Current Mission Capital investee organizations and 2018 Mission Accelerator graduates are not eligible to win.
  • Winners will be notified in advance and are required to allow use of their organization’s name and logo in marketing materials.

Questions? Contact Christin Monts at christinm@missioncapital.org or 512-477-5955 ext. 231




Community Leader of the Year
2017 Community Leader of the Year Award Winner, Senator Kirk Watson

Mission Capital is proud to celebrate Senator Kirk Watson for his extraordinary service in support of this community we all love! A longtime public servant and a former Mayor of Austin, Senator Watson was first elected to the Texas Senate (District 14) in 2006.

Repeatedly recognized for his legislative and coalition-building work, in 2011, Senator Watson proposed “10 Goals in 10 Years” to transform the health and economy of Central Texas. Through this vision, Central Texas welcomed the first class of students to the Dell Medical School at The University of Texas in 2016, will open Seton Healthcare Family’s new teaching hospital in 2017, made Austin a center of comprehensive care through the LIVESTRONG Institutes, and established high-quality, neighborhood-based health clinics for uninsured, low-income residents of Travis County.

Senator Watson has served on numerous nonprofit boards, including Austin’s American Cancer Society, Ballet Austin, Community Partnership for the Homeless, El Buen Samaritano and KLRU. He is the former Chair of the Greater Austin Chamber of Commerce, Texas Advisory Board for Environmental Defense and CAMPO, the primary transportation planning agency for Central Texas

Named in recognition of its inaugural recipient, this award honors an individual who passionately champions transformational community impact. Through extraordinary volunteer service to our community and inspiring philanthropic investment in social change, this individual’s efforts have personally resulted in a more prosperous Central Texas. In addition to Libby Malone (2013), recipients include Earl Maxwell (2014) and Jeff and Deanna Serra (2015).


Award Finalists

Nonprofit Executive of the YearExcellence in ImpactExcellence in InnovationExcellence in Collaboration

Rodney Ahart
Keep Austin Beautiful


Regina Rogoff
People’s Community Clinic


Carolyn Schwartz
Ronald McDonald House Charities of Central Texas


Kelli Kelley
Hand to Hold


Amy Mills


Nirav Shah
Social Finance, Inc.


Any Baby Can


Breakthrough Central Texas


Children’s Optimal Health


Austin Homeless Veterans Initiative


Austin Opportunity Youth Collaborative


GO! Austin / VAMOS! Austin (GAVA)



Maxwell Locke & Ritter
Wortham Insurance
Become a Sponsor